Race Report – National XC Round 4 – Cannock Chase 2022

Round 4 of the UK National XC Series took place this weekend at Cannock Chase. The course was running super fast with old favourites & new fresh cut sections making an overall great course! Whilst the rock garden may have been missed by some, there was still plenty of tight singletrack and multiple A/B lines to keep riders on their toes.

Cannock Chase truly is a course loved by all which was reflected in the number of entries! Each category saw a huge number of entries which made for a great atmosphere both in the event village and round the course. With the course wiggling around itself it created a great event for spectators as they could quickly walk between sections.


On Saturday the course was the driest we have ever seen it with only a few puddles that quickly disappeared as the day went on. This made for some speedy racing all round! The huge number of competitors made for some close racing in both the Sport and the Open categories.


Sport Male

1. William Gell

2. Marco Ruggeri – Rapha Cycling Club

3. Tom Stephenson – Lakes RC

Open Male

1. Stewart Crooks

2. Brett Dempsey

3. Stephen Jones

Open Female

1. Natalie Hodson – University of York CC

2. Rebecca Parish


With a fair amount of rain on Saturday evening and into the morning on Sunday the conditions on course changed a fair bit. The grassy areas were slippy and some of the puddles made a return. Thankfully the rain stopped just in time for the first race of the day to kick off.

The Youths and Juveniles started off Sunday’s racing with a rapid pace! The course was packed with young riders who had to fight for position in the tight singletrack sections meaning the climbs were filled with tough, fast paced racing!

The next race of the day was the Veterans, Grand Veterans and Super Veterans. Once again this race saw a packed field which lead to close racing that was great to watch!

The female race saw some fast paced racing but with clear winners in each category. It was awesome to see such a big female field!

The last race of the weekend was the Elite, Junior and Expert men. By the time their race rolled round the course was running faster than ever which made for an exciting watch both round the course and in the event village.


Youth Male

1. Ben Coppola – Four4th

2. Max Standen – Southfork Racing.co.uk

3. Ewan Dix

Youth Female

1. Daisy Taylor – Royal Albert CC

2. Bethany Ann Jackson – WXC World Racing

3. Florence Greenhalgh – Pine Sports

Juvenile Male

1. Leon Atkins – Welwyn Wheelers CC

2. Curtis McKee – Scott BrightMotorGroup

3. Arthur Limb – Matlock CC

Juvenile Female

1. Zoe Roche – WXC World Racing

2. Mazie Harper

3. Daisy Wilkinson – Edinburgh RC

Veteran Male

1. Adrian Lansley – Pedalon.co.uk

2. Alan Gunner – Verulam CC

3. Marc Chamberlain – Hunt Bike Wheels

Grand Veteran Male

1. Nicholas Craig – SCOTT Racing

2. Steve Calland – Team TMC – Strada Wheels

3. Ian Taylor – Shibden Cycling Club

Super Veteran Male

1. Grant Johnson

2. Bruce Rollinson – All Terrain Cycles Ride

3. Roy Hunt – Team Bottecchia

Elite Female

1. Elena McGorum – Peebles CC

2. Jane Barr – Velocity 44 RT

3. JoanneThomTORQ Performance

4. Amy Henchoz

5. Jules Toone

Sport/Expert Female

1. Christina Wiejak – Saint Piran WRT

2. Sofia Christiansen

3. Katherine Simpson

Junior Female

1. Emily Carrick-Anderson – T-Mo Racing

2. Libby Bell – Garden Shed UK-Ribble-V

3. Evie Steed – Sherwood Pines Cycles Forme

4. Phoebe Roche – WXC World Racing

5. Beatrix Kiehlmann – Royal Albert CC

Veteran Female

1. Ceris Styler – Backstedt Bike Performance RC

2. Tracy Mosley – T-Mo Racing

3. Cheri Mills – Fibrax Wrexham Roads Club

Grand Veteran Female

1. Helen Pattinson – Montezuma’s Race Team

2. Virginia Roberts – Albion Cycling Co

3. Lucy Rogers – Congleton CC

Super Veteran Female

1. Carolyn Speirs – Kendal Cycle Club

Elite Male

1. Charlie Aldridge – SCOTT Racing

2. Cameron Mason – TRINITY Road Racing

3. Rory McGuire

4. Cameron Orr – Team Inspired

5. Ben Wadey

Expert Male

1. Tom Couzens – Embark – Bikestrong

2. Daniel Barnes – Spectra Wiggle p/b Vitus

3. Flynn Gregory – Derby Mercury RC

Junior Male

1. Max Greensill – Hope Factory Racing

2. Nathan Smith – Hope Factory Racing

3. Reuben Oakley – ROTOR Race Team

4. Tom Scott – Trek Sheffield Fox Valley

5. Jack Southcott – ROTOR Race Team

Scroll to Top